Home > Featured Author/Interviews > Author Interview: Rich Knight

Author Interview: Rich Knight

I love to find new authors, and love to introduce them to you. Here’s an interview with author Rich Knight. Links to him are below the questions, make sure to check him out. I certainly will

 

1. Tell us a bit about yourself. What kind of books do you write? When did you start? Where are

you from etc

My name is Rich Knight, and I’m a seventh grade teacher. I like to write books that are unique to me, as I feel all writers should. My stories usually tend to be magical realism, since I can’t seem to stay in the real world with any of my stories, try as I might. I started writing back in the fourth grade (Mostly stories about launching cows and giant monsters), but seriously took it up back in college, where I finished my first novel (A real stinker) called Phantom Limb. It was about a writer who had repressed a great deal of his childhood, and decided to free write his next novel to try to find out why every time he thought of his past, he tasted meat. It turns out that he wound up eating his father-in-law with his paternal father at a young age in a rundown apartment. Yeah, like I said, a real stinker. Oh, and I’m from Clifton, New Jersey. I love the Garden State! All of my stories take place here.

2. Most authors also read a lot in addition to their writing. What kind of books to you prefer to

read? Who are some of your favorite authors?

I love to read all kinds of novels. I just finished reading Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy (What a terrifying novel), and I’m currently reading House of Leaves (Another terrifying book). Some of my favorite authors are Kurt Vonnegut, Isaac Asimov, Philip K. Dick, and Stephen King (Who doesn’t count Mr. King as one of their favorite authors?). Good, good stuff.

3. Tell us about your book.

My book is about a pregnant mother who journeys into her unborn child’s subconscious to prevent him from miscarrying himself. The story takes place both in the real world and in the universal mind and the protagonists are both in their late 40s. They’ve always wanted a baby and this is their last chance, but the baby doesn’t want to live. Imagination, Logic, Purpose, Instinct, and Love are all characters, and they are all at war with each other.

4. Do you have a favorite character in your book? Do fans gravitate towards one character more than others and why do you think that is?

My favorite character is Instinct, who acts as a sort of guide in the Internal Landscape. He’s the one who fights off the giant centipede and tries to save the heroine from the umbilical cord sea monster that has haunted her since she had her first abortion as a teenager.

5. Do you listen to music when writing? What kind of music would best suit your novels?

I do listen to music, thank you for asking! Progressive rock, like old-school Genesis with Peter Gabriel as the front man, and Gentle Giant are really influential to me. I also like to listen to music soundtracks, primarily ones by Johnny Greenwood (Think, There Will Be Blood and The Master). They really take me places.

6. If your book were made into a movie, who would play your characters in your dream cast?

I would want Jodie Foster would play Marigold and Tom Wilkinson would play Jeff Haunt.

7. If you had a chance to collaborate with any author, indie or mainstream, who would it be and why?

I would love to write something with Chuck Palahniuk. I think we would really get along and create something totally unique.

8. What’s next on your agenda?

I’m working on getting my novel, A Boy and His Corpse, published. I’ve been pitching to agents every chance I get.

 

The website for the book: http://thedarknessofthewomb.com/

Amazon page: http://www.amazon.com/The-Darkness-Womb-ebook/dp/B00DGA768A/ref=sr_1_1?

ie=UTF8&qid=1373631388&sr=8-1&keywords=The+Darkness+of+the+womb

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=8836650&ref=tn_tnmn

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Riknight36

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7143999.Richard_B_Knight

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

