Home > Featured Author/Interviews > Author Interview: Milan Bakrania

Author Interview: Milan Bakrania

Two in one day? Why of course, because we all need new things to read. Here’s another new author to look for

 

1. Tell us a bit about yourself. What kind of books do you write? When did you start? Where are you from etc

My name is Milan Bakrania. I’m from South London. Writing has always been a part of my life ever since I can remember. My first book, The Emissary, was published in 2010. I write to inspire others to live the best life possible. It is a theme that runs through all my work.

2. Most authors also read a lot in addition to their writing. What kind of books to you prefer toread? Who are some of your favorite authors?

No preference. I love all kinds of books from paranormal to drama, spiritual to science fiction. Some memorable ones are Bram Stoker’s Dracula, The Colour Purple by Alice Walker, Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe and Buddha by Deepak Chopra. I’m currently reading The Prophet by Kahlil Gibran and Sita’s Ascent by Vayu Naidu.

3. Tell us about your book.

I have two books out at the moment. HUMAN is a story of one man’s search for meaning. He has settled for what life throws at him until one day, when he realizes his friend has gone missing. He receives an anonymous text message and ends up on a boat heading away from the coast of India. He stumbles upon a secluded island and sets out on an adventure that brings him close to something a little extra-terrestrial. My second book is in the personal transformation/self-help genre: DISCOVER HOW GREAT YOU ARE IN 30 MINUTES. It does exactly what it says on the tin, but in a straight-forward, simple manner, and is a book that can be completed in half an hour.

4. Do you have a favorite character in your book? Do fans gravitate towards one character more than others and why do you think that is?

My favourite character in HUMAN is Uncle Ryan. He is an extremely mysterious person, often spoken about but never revealed fully. Fans like the protagonist, Zenith, for his use of language and dry humour. A character has to be interesting and real for the reader to relate to him/her.

5. Do you listen to music when writing? What kind of music would best suit your novels?

Yes, I love music when writing. Anything calming helps like Tibetan singing bowls or the sound of an echoing bamboo flute with subtle forest sounds in the background. Otherwise, some old school Missy Elliot or Rajasthani Folk song does the trick!

6. If your book were made into a movie, who would play your characters in your dream cast?

Great question! I haven’t really thought about it, but I must say, Irfan Khan (The Lunchbox, Life of Pi) would make a great Zenith Soni.

7. If you had a chance to collaborate with any author, indie or mainstream, who would it be and

I’m a huge fan of Kahlil Gibran and Bram Stoker, but they’ve passed on. So, I’d have to say Deepak Chopra, for his simple use of language.

8. What’s next on your agenda?

I’m working on a few manuscripts at the moment. One is a short story about three children who set out at different times of the same day…the rest is a secret! A sci-fi story is nearing completion and I’m also doing plenty of research for a book I want to write on the Hindu deity Shiva.

My site : http://www.milanauthor.com

HUMAN book link : http://www.troubador.co.uk/book_info.asp?bookid=2503

Twitter ID : @MilanBakrania

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

