Home > Featured Author/Interviews > Interview with new author Jai Terrell

Interview with new author Jai Terrell

So here’s an author I helped along her way. She did the writing, I did the editing and helped her put her books out there. I’ve mentioned her a few times and now I think you might like to get to know her a bit. Her first book, pictured here, is Secrets, Lies, and Addictions. This one is for my urban fiction readers

addiction cover

 

1. Tell us a bit about yourself. What kind of books do you write? When did you start? Where are you from etc

I’m from St. Louis and I wrote my first book this year. I write urban fiction. The book that was just written was initially started from a poem. I often write poetry to reflect on what’s going on with my life now.

2. Most authors also read a lot in addition to their writing. What kind of books to you prefer to read? Who are some of your favorite authors?

I read a lot of urban novels. I love reading Keshia Ervin, Chunichi, Zane and Mary Monroe.

3. Tell us about your book.

The book is steamed from a poem that I wrote called Addictions. In the book I write about four different couples. Each character has some type of addiction. The addiction can either be drugs, alcohol, sex, work or just addicted to a dysfunctional relationship.

4. Do you have a favorite character in your book? Do fans gravitate towards one character more than others and why do you think that is?

I mainly love all the female characters in my book. I relate more to Scarlett because of some of her actions she does I have done in my life. I live vicariously through her. My favorite character would be Zoë because she’s not your typical woman and she’s not in your average relationship. Zoë pushes the bar and is a ticking time bomb.

5. Do you listen to music when writing? What kind of music would best suit your novels?

I don’t listen to music while I’m writing. I may listen to music before I start writing. That music normally fits the mood of the character and what they’re going through at that time in that chapter. The music that’ll best fit the novel would be some type of club, R&B, and soul music.

6. If your book were made into a movie, who would play your characters in your dream cast?

My dream cast would be:

Scarlett- Zendaya Coleman Tyson- Romeo Miller Kareem- August Alsina

Emerald- Bria Murphy Reno- Lance Gross Tyler- Tika Sumpter

Lavender- Meagan Good Kobe- Laz Alonso Adé- Michael Ealy

Zoë- Zoë Saldana Cain- Brian J. White Kyndell-Lauren London

7. If you had a chance to collaborate with any author, indie or mainstream, who would it be and why?

I would like to collaborate with Chunichi because her books always have me on edge and waiting for the next one to be released.

8. What’s next on your agenda?

Next on my agenda is to finish writing the rest of this series. It’s three other books that’ll follow with this one.

 

Links to the book: 

http://www.amazon.com/Secrets-Lies-Addictions-Jai-Terrell/dp/1493624385/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1384824287&sr=1-1&keywords=jai+terrell

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/secrets-lies-addictions-jai-terrell/1117374943?ean=9781493624386

http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/373037

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

