Home > Featured Author/Interviews > Blog Book Fair Author Interview: Sara Schmidt

Blog Book Fair Author Interview: Sara Schmidt

SJ_HardAsRock_large(1)

Interview Questions:

1. Tell us a bit about yourself. What kind of books do you write? When did you start? Where are you from etc.

Thanks for having me! I’m a full-time freelance writer and homeschooling mother who writes a bit of everything, but all of my published books are all supernatural erotic romance. On a whim, I entered the Changeling Press Spring Fling contest in 2012 and won, and have published three books with the company since. I have another five coming out this year!

2. Most authors also read a lot in addition to their writing. What kind of books to you prefer to read? Who are some of your favorite authors?

My favorites are plain old fantasy and YA lit, but I’ll pretty much read anything. My favorite authors right now are Jim Butcher and Neil Gaiman. I’m about 100 pages into Game of Thrones and quickly falling in love with it, too.

3. Tell us about your book.
Hard As a Rock is the story of Canna, an impish faery who “haunts” a futuristic sex club. The patrons can’t see her so they think she’s a pleasure poltergeist! Canna is in love with the one member of the club she can’t have—a looming gargoyle statue that just can’t be real.
4. Do you have a favorite character in your book? Do fans gravitate towards one character more than others and why do you think that is?

So far, it sounds like fans really love Canna. She’s very mischievous and has a couple of really funny scenes. She’s also insatiable and completely unashamed about how much she loves to play with humans of any gender.

5. Do you listen to music when writing? What kind of music would best suit your novels?
I don’t always listen to music but it does inspire me sometimes. In fact, this book is named after the AC/DC song of the same name!
6. If your book were made into a movie, who would play your characters in your dream cast?
I would pick The Rock to be Basalt, my gargoyle, but he’d need a lot of makeup! (Before his death, I might’ve selected Michael Clarke Duncan instead.) I like Emma Stone as Canna.

7. If you had a chance to collaborate with any author, indie or mainstream, who would it be and why?
I think it would be Mychael Black. I am a big fan of Mychael’s work and it’s so different from my own. It would be a big challenge for me and I think I would learn so much. As far as mainstream authors go, of course it would be Neil Gaiman! Or maybe Suzanne Collins. How cool would that be?
8. What’s next on your agenda?
I just finished a book that will be due out in August called Falling for Fall. It’s about the Green Man and the mortal woman he loves. They’re paranormal investigators and I’m very excited about it. After that, I have back-to-back releases from September to December!

boon collector

Please include any links to social media or websites you wish to share. Also, attach any book covers or author photos you wish to be included.
Books: https://www.changelingpress.com/author.php?uid=174
Sara’s Blog: http://sarajayserotica.wordpress.com
Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/sarajayschmidt?fref=ts
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B00DBOI5ZY
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6583789.Sara_Jay
Twitter: https://twitter.com/sarajayserotica

SJ_NobodyRides_LARGE

  1. No comments yet.
  1. July 26, 2013 at 12:32 am

Leave a Reply

