Home > Featured Author/Interviews > Blog Book Fair Author Interview: Nina Pierce

Blog Book Fair Author Interview: Nina Pierce

A_Touch_of_Lilly_Cover_for_Kindle

Interview Questions for Nina Pierce
JULY 25, 2013

Tell us a bit about yourself
Well, that’s a loaded question isn’t it? LOL! Okay, I’ll give you the short version. When I grew up I always wanted to work with Jacques Cousteau, but settled for a degree in Marine Biology and teaching at an outreach education center. I was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis in my late twenties and it just sort of percolated in the background of my life as I raised my three kids. When the ugly disease reared its head about 8 years ago, making it impossible for me to teach, I left behind the white boards and dry markers for a keyboard and computer monitor. Now, I spend my days with sexy men with a chink in the armor and the kick-butt heroines who try to save them. My stories range from contemporary to futuristic, suspense to erotic romance, and everything in between.

Most authors also read a lot in addition to their writing. What kind of books do you prefer to read? Who are some of your favorite authors?
Like most authors, it was my love of reading that fueled my imagination and got me writing stories I would love to read. My first love is science fiction and paranormal. I really enjoy stories that take me to new places and ideas that really stretch reality. I cut my sci fi teeth on Isaac Asimov’s “Foundation” series and Anne McCaffrey’s “Freedom’s” series. I just finished Jessica Andersen’s “Nightkeepers” series and now I’m neck-deep in JR Ward’s “Black Dagger Brotherhood”. But just so you don’t think I’m a total genre purist, I LOVE anything Amanda Quick or Lisa Kleypas for historical authors. Ooookay, truth be told, if it’s got a great lovestory (in any genre) … I’m all over it!

Tell us about your book.
A TOUCH OF LILLY is the story of a woman who isn’t completely human. She has a secret gift that gets her kidnapped and shipped off to the mining colonies on another planet. Lilly manages to escape and is now traveling deep space working as a bounty hunter and seeking revenge on the male that nearly had her imprisoned. Of course the alien she’s hunting also happens to be wanted by the space version of the FBI and all kinds of trouble happens when she gets in the middle of their take down. There’s a murder or two, a couple of twists and some really sexy scenes … just to round it out.

Do you listen to music when writing?
NO! I’m one of a very small minority of writers who likes her writing space quiet and without distractions. There’s something about music that completely screws up the wiring of the various channels running simultaneously in my brain. I couldn’t study to music when I was in high school and college and now my muse refuses to work if there is a song is playing (mostly because she just dances off into the corner). The television … that I can tune out … but not music.

If your book were made into a movie, who would play your characters in your dream cast?
Okay, don’t laugh at me, but I’m a very visual person, so before I can write a book I have to figure out who my characters are and what they look like. Which means I scour the internet looking for juuuust the right image. So Matthew McConaughey would play the hero, Dallas Sawyer. A blond Kate Beckinsale would play Lilly. And if I had to pick someone to play Thaegan, I guess it would have to be Adrian Paul. Yeeeah, I guess those 3 would do. 😉

What’s next on your agenda?
Oh, gosh I just don’t know. I’ve got a lot of story ideas flying around, but no time at the moment to pull them together. I’m in the middle of a cougar/wolf shifter series that readers have been asking about. I’ve got another erotic romance series just begging for three characters to have their own happy-ever-afters. A wonderful romantic suspense story that I’ve always loved, that keeps begging for me to edit and get it out there (which I keep plugging away at). And now that I’ve created this great world for Lilly, Dallas and Thaegan, I’d love to set another story or two in deep space. Let’s just say I have a lot to choose from. 😀

BLURB:
Ex-Chicago detective LILLY D’ANGELO has a secret she doesn’t share with anyone. A master of the one night stand, she’s given up ever finding a soul mate and thrown herself head first into her career. That is, until she captures the wrong alien. Kidnapped and sold into the sex slave trade, she’s shipped into deep space. Barely escaping with her life, Lilly now travels the galaxy working as a bounty hunter using her secret talents to bring down criminals and seeking revenge on the one male who ruined her life.

Agent DALLAS SAWYER works for deep space’s version of the FBI. After a disastrous mission that left several of his team members murdered, a president executed, and Dallas near death, he’s determined to take down the assassin targeting government officials. When a sexy human female gets between him and his goal, Dallas and his alien partner find themselves on the receiving end of a passionate night they won’t soon forget and a proposition that may very well blow up in their faces.

Because in deep space … true love can happen with just a touch.

EXCERPT:
“I know who Grebetz’s boss is,” Lilly said. Okay, so that might not be the truth. Lilly suspected she’d seen Venair Grebetz’s boss. The hologram of the Braugtot had certainly flustered the otherwise confident Znedu. But if this was a bargaining chip to keep her from QAL headquarters, then she’d go all in.

Dallas walked up to her. “What do you mean you know his boss? Have you been hunting him?”

“She’s lying,” Thaegan said. “The witch is trying to buy some time.”

“Shut up, Thaegan.” Dallas kept his dark eyes focused solely on her. Her stomach did a slow roll that had nothing to do with fear.

“Lilly, tell me exactly what you meant,” Dallas said.

“I haven’t exactly been hunting him.”

“How about if you elaborate.” Dallas dragged the words out slowly.

He reached for the dagger in her hand and she gladly handed it over to him. What Lilly needed was for Dallas to trust her. She no longer wanted to get away from this man, quite the contrary as a matter of fact. It had been so long since a human male had touched her with the passion Dallas had, and Lilly wanted more of that even if Dallas didn’t believe she had control over his desires.

“I’ll tell you only if I still get the bounty for Grebetz,” she said bravely. Even male companionship wouldn’t keep her fed.

“I don’t think you’re in a position to make any kind of deal, Seraphelium,” Thaegan said.

Dallas turned abruptly to his partner. “Damn it, Thaegan, I’m warning you…”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
BUY LINK for KINDLE lovers: http://amzn.com/B00CR4I522
BUY LINK for NOOK lovers: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/a-touch-of-lilly-nina-pierce/1022936625?ean=9781479315895

Close up CaneUSA Today bestselling author, Nina Pierce, grew up in a house full of readers. Nina’s discovered the passionate side of romance with her sexy stories. For her, it’s all about the sweet scent of seduction mixed with the heartwarming aroma of romance.

Nina resides in New England with her high school sweetheart and soul mate of twenty-nine years and several very spoiled cats who consider her “staff”. When she’s not writing she enjoys spending time with her three grown children, one love-sick son-in-law and a heart-melting grandson.

You can keep up with her new books at her website (http://www.NinaPierce.com) or by following her on Facebook (https://www.facebook.com/nina.pierce) or Twitter (http://www.twitter.com/ninapierce)

  1. July 25, 2013 at 9:18 am

    Thanks so much for having me here today, Drako! I’m having so much fun hanging out a different blogs during this Blogger’s Book Fair. I hope your readers enjoy learning a little something/something about me and my newest release!

    • July 25, 2013 at 9:01 pm

      I’m glad to have you. I agree, hopping from blog to blog has been fun. Feel free to come in for a guest post anytime

  2. July 25, 2013 at 9:57 am

    Eagerly awaiting your next book! 🙂

    • Nina Pierce
      July 25, 2013 at 10:41 am

      LOL! I’m finally working on it Amber!

  3. July 25, 2013 at 12:36 pm

    Sounds like a great read, Nina. Congratulations. 🙂 I’m with you on the writing space. I need things QUIET so that I can think. Sometimes I will listen to music before, to set the mood. But when I actually start to write, I can’t stand any noise. I thought I was alone. LOL

    • Nina Pierce
      July 25, 2013 at 2:01 pm

      I think we’re in the silent minority, Tracey. (See what I did there with the pun? LOL! Sometimes I just crack myself up!)

  4. July 25, 2013 at 1:09 pm

    great interview Nina cant wait for that shifter story

    • Nina Pierce
      July 25, 2013 at 2:02 pm

      I really need to get the next book in the “Bonded” series out. Lots of people are looking forward to Aaron’s story, Denise.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

