Home > Writing > Music: What do you listen to when you write?

Music: What do you listen to when you write?

Though I am not very gifted musically (and that’s really being generous because I can’t play instruments and I sound horrible singing), I love music. I have favorite artists for certain situations. And then I have certain artists that I can always listen to.

For instance, when I’m writing a battle scene, especially the larger scale ones, I need something upbeat. Something that inspires me to action. And normally something I can see a wrestling character using as their entrance music. Disturbed is fabulous for this. Also Korn, Limp Bizkit, and Linkin Park. Ludacris also works for this too.

For the more comical scenes, something light and airy, so something like the Rent soundtrack (don’t judge me, it’s one of a select few musicals I like)

For the love scenes, whether the sexual scenes or just those more heart wrenching personal discussions or break ups, I need slower music. Brandy, Monica, Aaliyah, Whitney Houston, and Deborah Cox are just a few artists that personally help me in all these situations.

And just to generally have soothing music to guide me through any scene or poem, or just to relax me, Brandy is my personal favorite. I have a deep love of all her music and she has always been able to guide me through the proper emotions.

Music in general helps me write. It gives me that extra boost to get out the emotions necessary. Music has helped me through some of the darkest points in life and has been part of some of the highlights. Triumph to tragedy, music is something I love and need around me, and I’m listening to Brandy’s newest album even as I’m writing this. Feels good to have just a generally easy day

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

